London Food Scene: Roti Chai, Marble Arch


I have been wanting to try this restaurant for a while now as I had heard good things about it time and time again and it looked like something which was different from what other restaurants had to offer. So, I finally planned a day out and went here with my group of friends, and thankfully we all came back happy (but not the fullest though as servings were not the largest, yet quite expensive).

DSC_0038

The environment and staff were welcoming and they won my heart when I heard ‘kabhi kabhi mere dil main khayal ata hai’ in the background. I made a video and sent it to my dad right away. If you are a person who likes classical Indian music at all, you’re going to enjoy being here so much. We were signing away and eating at the same time – reminiscing old memories.

10624852_10152680844706970_8978210452311059458_n

In food we had the butter chicken, malai chicken tikka and chicken 65. They all tasted smashing and malai chicken tikka was probably one of my favourite tikka’s I have ever had. The food was very decent apart from the serving size. Also, chicken 65 doesn’t have curry with it, but all starters/ small plates are served with sauces.

DSC_0040

They also have quite a fair range of drinks and mocktails to choose from and I tried the guava, coconut, lime mocktail (can’t seem to remember the name). It was probably not the best mocktail I have ever had, but I quite enjoyed it. Overall, I enjoyed my experience of dining at Roti Chai, although I am definitely more tempted to try their street kitchen menu which is probably more ethnic and unique.

DSC_0034

The restaurant is not the cheapest, but you pay for the experience, location and environment. Overall you can expect to pay £25 per person for food and drink. [The restaurant serves Halal food and drink.]

Leave a Reply

