Basant: Celebration of Spring


Image

It came to me no less than a surprise that among the last days of my first year at university in London the campus seemed all the more festive, colourful and fun. The dhols were playing, colourful kites had arrived, girls were putting henna and the music had been playing too!

They say that the distance makes you grow fonder and I find that this stands true not just for people but for cultures, celebrations and possessions. I would have never imagined in my wildest of dreams, I was in for such a treat at university. That was one good day!

When I was offered to become a part of the Cultural Society at university, I knew I wanted to do something special for Basant and thankfully all the right opportunities came along. It wasn’t the aim of being in the committee but it sure was something I wanted to do. After a series of successful events, we finally decided to end the year with a Basant Extravaganza. This event was to be bigger and better than the one I had attended in 2010 in all respects.

We gathered universities across London to join hands to put forward an event that could do justice to ending the wonderful year that we had had as a society. The fact that we got the student union award for the ‘most improved society’ right before the event only added to how special this end was. Despite the awful and unpredictable British weather, we put up quite a show with more than 200 people attending and everything one could ask for in a Basant event; desi cuisines, biryani, gol gappay, lassi, colourful kites, pan, henna, bouncy castles, sumo wrestling, Pakistani Truck in ambience and dhol players.

Image

The event sure did gratify my personal fondness with the cultural events of that sort, as did all others in the whole year. But I noticed that there was something different about this event that hadn’t been there in the earlier events. I started off as a part of the committee, knowing that I only wanted to give my best and do justice to my role in the team and I had done that at each point of the year anyway but we had never gained so much media attention in the past from any event, despite having bigger events earlier like the Boat Party. This is not a perspective that dawned on while I was working in the team, but once it was over and I had the chance to analyse things that had happened in a different way. Intentionally or unintentionally I realised that we all wanted to leave a legacy, a stand point and a bench mark for those to follow. This was not a part of the agenda, and I have to say the odds were in our favour but regardless, after having put all the persistent efforts through thick and thin, we wanted to know it had been worthwhile. And I guess that’s what puts life into your achievement and what you do.

Image

Being an intelligent being by nature, it is not enough for human beings to do something and simply get a reward in return. Infact it is important for you to know that what you do has a meaning and purpose. And one is lucky if they can leave an impact that will affect others in a positive way- I guess that’s what we were all looking for somewhere throughout our journey.

It has been a quite an year which helped me learn, experience, enjoy and sometimes prove my own thoughts about myself and the world wrong- I overcame my fear of leading when I was promoted from Events Organiser to Vice President within three months of holding my position in the society, I learnt how many different kinds of generous and difficult people are out there, I learnt how to deal with them, I learnt to make and keep friends, and to get things done, manage priorities and so many other things. But most importantly I learnt to manage and recognize people and their achievements, including my own, which means it is not enough to just do something, but also to attribute and recognize it.

Event’s Media Coverage

The News International: Instep

TV786.net

Geo News

Hotcourses Pakistan

Leave a Reply

